Expanding on my repertoire of poster design I wanted to incorporate elements of illustrations into my collection. This task emphasised our design thinking to experiment with new ideas and new methods of visual communication, whether it be through creating a game, an app, packaging, poster campaigns etc.

The central topic addressed is highly prevalent in our global context and can be applied to anyone who considers themselves as being targeted by racism at some point in their lives. The posters each have a copy that I have created as well as an illustration that pairs with that copy.

This design project includes the incorporation of colour as I wanted to experiment with different tones, which I found aided the fluidity of each poster when compared alongside one another. I also thought the use of colour would attract viewers to want to be able to read and analyse each message accordingly.

Being a target of racism this topic correlated towards my own experiences growing up, thus the creation of a variety of posters.

Having researched the broad topic, I encountered an Australian organisation which holds their own campaign titled, “Racism. It Stops With Me.” and ultimately used their already existing logo to potentially create posters for their organisation.

The final designs consisted of portrait and landscape posters which would be turned into billboards as for the advertising aspect of the campaign.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

Leave a comment