I’ve observed my old folks more intently over their progression into the digital age. They’re willing yet hesitant to learn of new technology being introduced to them as they upgrade their mobile phones and use their iPad to good use. I constantly have to be their teacher for these things, as the digital language has been embedded into my upbringing; becoming a natural occurrence in my life.

It’s funny, my mum would have to keep asking for help on a problem she’s encountered countless times, yet she needs me to depend on for digital assistance (this could be as simple as placing a photo to a Facebook post, or adding a sticker or emotion to a status update).

Sometimes it’s tiresome, and often I realise their introduction to various technological advancements might hinder their learning due to overwhelming feelings and initial neglect.

 


 

You may anticipate your parents’ downfall in constantly learning the ropes of incoming updates in technology, however this is surprisingly being challenged – at least with my parents.

Observing their behaviour and acceptance on a variety of technology is telling of their ability to adapt. After all, this ultimately becomes an efficient use of communication between family members, especially those living overseas.

 

Leave a comment